walk-in showers

:house_with_garden: French DIY - challenges & solutions, Painting & Wallpapering etc.
Biloute

walk-in showers

#1 Post by Biloute »

Hello everyone !
Walk-in showers are called "douches Italiennes" in French... Is it because Italians are too lazy for lifting their legs enough to go into a tray ? No, I'm jocking: too much of French humor :D
When I was a builder, I always refused to install one for a customer because it was too risky about leaks, because the precautions would have lead to a huge estimate and because other brave builders had a very bad experience. Also, most of my customers wanted one upstairs on an old parquet floor with soil pipes too high.
Being retired and wanting to make one at least once in my life, I decided to have a go in our suited bedroom at the ground level.
I had to dig quite deep in all the rooms to have the soil pipes at the right level with a decent slope: lot of heavy work !
Then, I had to make a diamond shape screed with 3% slope down to a central high flow gutter. I waterproofed the floor and the walls with special membranes (Ditr/Kerdi) and sealed with polyurethan mastic where necessary.
I tiled the walls and the floor with matching tiles and mosaic. No need to mention that all the cements were waterproof !
Here we are :
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Demain est le premier des jours qu'il nous reste à vivre: profitons-en ! :D

niemeyjt

Re: walk-in showers

#2 Post by niemeyjt »

Have a look at Skillbuilder on YouTube also - they have done a whole series on these along with concealed cisterns etc

https://www.youtube.com/c/SkillBuilder

He uses Abacus Elements - for example see:

Doug

#3 Post by Doug »

Not one to boast but I've fitted showers for 50 years and only had one give leaking problems.
But they were in houses which I designed back in the uk and ones which I completely renovated here.

Spardo

#4 Post by Spardo »